2002 Renaissance Prize Winners

At the 2002 commencement, the university has recognized 97 seniors as USC Renaissance Scholars. Each student has completed a major and a minor, or a double major, in two disparate fields with a grade point average of 3.5 or better. Each Renaissance Scholar is also eligible to enter the Renaissance Scholar Prize competition. From among the 85 scholars who chose to compete, 17 have been nominated to receive a $10,000 prize. The 17 prize recipients form an exemplary group.

Maryanna Abdo

Major: Cinema-Television (Critical Studies)
Minors: French; Political Science

Eric Altman

Majors: Cinema-Television (Production); Comparative Literature

John Arroyo

Major: Public Relations
Minor: Urban Planning and Development

Carolyn Bevan

Major: Theatre
Minor: Neuroscience

Tejal Bhirud

Major: American Studies and Ethnicity (Asian American Studies)
Minors: Natural Science; Spanish

Andrew Bulbrook

Major: Economics
Minor: Musical Studies

Katherine FitzSimons

Majors: Broadcast Journalism; Spanish
Minor: Cultural Anthropology

Mahmood Ghaffary

Majors: Computer Science; Political Science

Liliana Loofbourow

Majors: English (Creative Writing); Music; Psychobiology

Susan Mackie

Major: Biochemistry
Minor: Russian

Thomas Meier

Major: Philosophy
Minor: Theatre

Cecilia Mo

Majors: Interdisciplinary Studies; Mathematics
Minor: Economics

Steven Okamoto

Majors: Computer Science; Mathematics (B.A.)
Minors: Multimedia & Creative Technologies; Philosophy

William Pao

Majors: East Asian Languages and Cultures; Economics; Political Science

Jessica Roberts

Major: Political Science
Minors: French; Law and Society; Theatre

Justin Warren

Major: Aerospace Engineering
Minors: East Asian Languages and Cultures; German

Judith Wong

Majors: Chemistry (B.A.); Music


Back to Top